It’s A Small World: Dating In Atlanta


I want to sing “It’s a Small World After All” after my interesting weekend. No I didn’t run into an old boyfriend or a past fling, rather I experienced something that would only happen to ME! Here’s what happened:

Thanksgiving day, Friday, and Saturday I mostly stayed in the house and rested (it’s rare I get to do that with my busy schedule). Saturday night, however, I was restless and I wanted to do something. After watching “Notorious” on BET and getting hyped up (NY baby!), I decided to go out…by myself. I wanted to dance and have a couple of drinks. I got dressed and went to a local lounge in Atlanta called ‘Taboo.’ The last time I went to a lounge alone I sat at the bar the entire night, but this time I felt different. I danced, mingled, and “Wobble Wobbled” (that’s my song by the way)! I also met two men…wait it’s not what you think…

The first guy who approached me was tipsy because he asked the same questions several times. He assumed I was visiting from NY, I guess because of my accent, and I didn’t bother to correct him. I went along with the ‘out of town’ story. He even gave me a different name. I told him my name was “Rasia,” but somehow he heard “Diya.” So for the night I was ‘Diya’ from New York. Eventually the tipsy guy wandered off, probably because I wasn’t local p!*#y (he gave me that vibe). So I went back to dancing and singing to the music, and it wasn’t long before I was approached by another guy. This guy was sober and pleasant, but I really wasn’t in the mood to talk. I just wanted to dance and have a couple of drinks. I was not interested in meeting someone new and adding him to my dating pool. So what did I do? I decided to run with the ‘Diya from New York’ story hoping he would wander off like the first guy since I wasn’t local p!*#y.

“What’s your name? : “Diya”

“Where you from?” : “New York”

“You live here?” : “No I’m just visiting for the holiday. I borrowed my cousin’s car and came out to meet up with some girlfriends (never disclose you’re alone).”

“Oh okay, when do you leave?” : “Tomorrow, my flight is at 12:00.”

“Damn I can’t even take you to brunch?” : “No, I’m afraid not.”

I had my story down! I really felt like I was visiting because the lie has bits of truth in it. After having small talk with him, I thought he was a cool guy. We danced and talked, but still I wasn’t interested him beyond the dance floor. At about 2:45AM Mr. Cool Guy and I said our goodbyes, but not before he asked for my number. Instead I took his number and told him I’d call to let him know I got home safely. I didn’t call him when I got home, but after Taboo I didn’t go straight home anyway. I went to WAFFLE HOUSE!! (That’s that down South ish & I love it!!) After the party, there’s a party at Waffle House, and yes I went by myself! You always meet ‘characters’ at Waffle House, so I definitely ended my night with a laugh!! I must say I enjoyed myself that night, and I was proud that I ventured out on my own.

WAIT!! The story isn’t over!

Sunday I ran a errands, which one errand was grocery shopping at Walmart. I walk down the frozen section aisle and who do I see?? Mr. Cool Guy from the night before! Ahhh shit, I’m supposed to be in New York by now!! Furthermore, I was supposed to call him too! What excuse could I come up with as to why I live in New York, but I’m at Walmart grocery shopping in Atlanta? I don’t think he saw ME, but I saw HIM! Especially because he wore THE SAME THING he had on the night before!!! So I tried to dodge him!! I pushed the cart so fast through the Kids section, hiding, ducking, and looking like an idiot! What would I say if he saw me? The ‘Diya from New York’ story was harmless, and besides what are the chances I would see the guy that I lied to the very next day!!! Again, this would only happen to ME! While in Walmart I called my friend for support (which her name happens to be ‘Diya’ LOL), and in between the laughter, she suggested I get out of there as fast as I could. It’s not like I was scared of the guy, but it was funny that I would see him the next day. What are the chances?? Atlanta is too small!! I thought I’d run into him at checkout, but I didn’t see him. But here’s the kicker…I get to the parking lot and can’t remember where I parked!!! Only ME?!?! I looked like even more of an idiot roaming through the parking lot with a shopping cart and pressing my alarm button to find my car. I didn’t see Mr. Cool Guy in the parking lot, but he was probably sitting in his car laughing at me, “Look at this bitch! Hahaha!” I learned a lesson last weekend: Don’t lie in Atlanta!! Atlanta is a small world! I’m not just saying that because of this situation alone, but you’d be surprised who you know, that knows someone else, that knows you (make sense? LoL). I know I will probably run into Mr. Cool Guy again because obviously he lives in the area for him to be at that Walmart, which is close to the lounge too. When that day comes I will tell him ‘Diya from New York’ is really ‘Diya in Atlanta.’ There’s no harm in lying about my name right?? LoL!!

There’s a new category: “Dating In Atlanta

6 comments

  1. Hahahahaha! This was hilarious! I could actually picture this as it happened. Whew! Glad you didn’t get caught up. But, for some reason I have a feeling you’ll run into him again. But maybe as time progresses he won’t remember where he met you from & the story will be a blur. But again, this is hilarious. Atlanta IS entirely too small, because everybody does kno somebody who kno’s somebody… And as for you going out alone, I commend you, because everybody can’t do that & have a good time. :o)

    1. Girl I’m glad I didn’t get caught up either! And you’re right, I’m sure I will run into him again too, and the next time I probably won’t see him coming. Retreat! Retreat! LMAO!

  2. LOL This is crazy, if your going to play the game why didnt you go to brunch LOL…. Fluffy pancakes, bacon and eggs. Suasage too….. shoot you should have went to brunch LOL…. I would have given anything to see you running in the Walmart Olympics… hurdling over the deodorant and diving past the towels and linen. “Only My Sister Rosco has stories like this LOL”

    1. LMAO!! I didn’t go to brunch because I just wanted to chill for the night. He wasn’t someone I was interested in. I feel you though, I should’ve at least gotten a meal. “Walmart Olympics??” Only me, I know LoL!

  3. Women call men ” Lame”” for lying. But, it is okay for them to do stuff like this and get away with it. If a man does it, he is ” Lame””. But, if a women does it her actions are justified. Man, the power of double standards!!!

    1. Actually I didn’t say my actions were justified. It was a lesson in dating for me, and I was just sharing my story. I wouldn’t recommend man or woman lying because yes both sides would be considered “lame,” and as in my case, it’s easy to get caught. Not a double standard at all…at least in my opinion. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

