The 28 Year Old Itch???


What is the 28-year-old itch you ask? No I am not talking about that kind of itch; rather I am talking about the relationship itch. Allow me to explain. A few weeks ago I told my friend I felt like a dog in heat when I saw men (men I am attracted to of course). If I saw a group of good-looking men, I wouldn’t know what to do with myself. If an attractive man said hello in passing, I wanted to pounce on him like a cat (ROOOW!) In conversation if someone mentioned their brother, I would ask “Is your brother single?” See what I mean? It was BAD! You would think I was in heat for real! Thankfully I did not actually act out my animalist thoughts, but I was worried because it was out of my character. WHAT WAS WRONG WITH ME??? Luckily my good friend, who is in her mid-30’s, helped identify my problem. She was straight to the point and diagnosed me with the 28-year-old itch.

The 28-year-old itch is the feeling of desperation some single women experience around the 28-30-year-old ages. It is a subconscious act of desperation. I could not believe that ME, the advocate against desperate women and thirstiness, experienced this problem, but alas it is true. Subconsciously I desperately wanted to be in a relationship, I wanted someone to care for, and I wanted someone to care for me. Initially I thought it was the changing seasons and the start of cuddle weather; NOT! For me it was about a relationship as opposed to marriage, but for some women it’s all about marriage. Lust is also a part of the itch, which is why sometimes I want to take a FOINE brotha and just tackle him! (Excuse me ya’ll, I digress. LoL) The 28-year-old itch happens as a woman approaches the 30 year old marker. NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! I do embrace my age, but I subconsciously became concerned about being 30 and single and I was scared at how fast time is moving. Let’s be real, no matter how strong and independent a woman is, she wants to love and be loved. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that, but she (we) also have to be smart. So now that I accepted my diagnosis of the 28-year-old itch, I consciously keep my thoughts in check. I remind myself that there is a man out there for me, and it’s just a matter of when God will reveal him to me. I would be lieing if I said the single life does not get lonely, but I’d also be lieing to myself if I pounced and settled on just any man.

I thought it was important to talk about the 28-year-old itch for those women who find themselves in the same predicament and wonder what is going on? Especially if it is out of your character. Single ladies have to support one another, and sometimes that involves reassurance that you are not alone in your feelings or thoughts. Believe me we have probably felt, wondered, or experienced the same things at some points in our lives. That is why I love writing about my dating feelings, thoughts and experiences, because most likely someone else can feel my pain or laugh with me. Dating Do’s, Don’ts & Duh!! is your support group ladies, so let’s support one another! Hi my name is Rasia and I suffered from the 28-year-old, and I am proud to be a SURVIVOR!! LoL!

(Hmmm I wonder if men get the itch too???)

2 comments

  1. As a 30 year old man, I have the itch more and more every day. I have been in several long term relationships in my life; and at this stage short term stuff doesn’t do it for me. I am stuck in a subconscious act of desperation and not sure where I will end up.

    At the age of 28 I started looking for women who had “long term potential” resulting in one extreme or the other: “moving women across the country” or “avoiding relationships altogether”. 4 months ago I moved myself across the world to experience a different culture and my symptoms seem to be getting worse.

    On this date and time I am relationship itching my skin off, which tells me more and more, perhaps I should stay away …

    d.

Leave a Reply

