The Dating Experiment


“All life is an experiment. The more experiments you make the better.” (Ralph Waldo Emerson)

The above quote couldn’t be more true, which is why I am participating in the Dating experiment. The Dating experiment was suggested by Duece Duece after his ‘concern’ with the men I attract. I tend to only attract men who are at least ten years older than me. Since I was 17 (yes 17), I’ve dated men who were at least five to ten years older than me. That’s not to say I didn’t go on at least one or two dates with a man my age, but the majority of men I’ve seriously dated or were in relationships with, were older. In the past year, it seems like I haven’t even met a man my age or close to it. The men I’ve dated, which hasn’t been that many :-/, have been in the 35-38 year old range. Duece Duece could not believe I only attract ‘older’ men, so he concluded there must be an aura I give off to attract these men in particular. I wondered, is he right? Do I appear more mature, do I give off a ‘wise’ look, or is it me; maybe I only give attention to ‘older’ men. My girlfriends tease me because when we go out I often notice the man who looks ‘mature’. So maybe it is me! Duece Duece further brought this to my attention as he rode in my car one day. Chubb Rock’s “Treat ‘Em Right” blasted from the speakers, along with a number of songs from the 90’s. It’s not that Duece Duece doesn’t appreciate old school songs, it’s that he knows I’m an old soul, so he suggested that may be the reason I attract ‘older’ men. Initially I wasn’t sure he was right, but as I thought about the music I listen to and the shows I watch, I couldn’t help but wonder.

My Music List (an example)
Chubb Rock (of course)
Envogue
Brownstone (“If You Love Me” is my song!!)
Luther Vandross
Alicia Meyers
Michael Jackson
Teena Marie

My TV Show List (an example)
Golden Girls
Will & Grace
Seinfeld (I confess I’m a Seinfeld geek)
Martin
Forensic Files
Dateline ID
Matlock (I love me some Matlock)

I’m not that bad right?? Don’t get me wrong I listen to current music, but above all I love, love, love old school music! As far as television, I watch whatever makes me laugh or catches my interest. I watch current programs like Family Guy, Law & Order SVU, and Judge Judy among others. Am I old school and is that why I attract ‘older’ men’? I hope the Dating experiment helps me figure it out.

The dating experiment, again credit to Duece Duece, is a test to see if what I listen to and watch somehow contributes to the aura I give off to men. The experiment will consist of six months of listening to and watching ‘young’ and current media. Instead of listening to Chubb Rock, I’ll listen to Waka Flaka? (whoa!) Instead of Golden Girls, I’ll watch the Jersey Shore? (confession: I watch that garbage now lol) What is ‘young’ and current?? I’m sure I’ll figure it out…hopefully. Duece Duece proposed this experiment to me a while ago, but I wasn’t ready. I’m ready now…I think. I will update the blog with my progress. The ultimate test will be if I actually meet or date men who are in the 27-30 year old age range. I’m not sure if I believe in this experiment, but I think it’ll be fun and interesting. I figure why not have fun with it…it’s just a social experiment right? So tonight, I will chill out, watch my Golden Girls, Matlock, In Living Color (watching that now), etc. Before I go to bed, it’s on! I’m bringing out all the oldies! From Luther Vandross, Rene & Angela, and Teena Marie to D’Angelo, SWV, Dru Hill, and Mary J. Blige (“My Life” Mary though), just to name a few. So excited for tonight, but tomorrow it will be a different story. I could use some suggestions of what to listen that is current and hip (yes I said hip, lol).

I’ll keep you posted on my search for a youngin’! Haha! Wish me luck! 🙂

This song seems fitting…

11 comments

  1. I think this experiment would be fitting for you! I’d definitely love to see you dating a younger ATLien, and see how that would work! LOL I think a lot of people should try this….

  2. I must say you are very mature for your age and there is nothing wrong with you enjoying good music but, I love the experiment. I attracted older guys also most of my life and when I dated men my age I was not satisfied. Now that I am older I attract younger men and good Lord that is no fun either. Well, I am excited about your experiment and I promise to get you around some men your age.

  3. Oh Lord don’t be putting a bunch of faith in me. I am going to broaden your horizons and give you writing materials. I may have to get you a webcam…lol.

  4. It?s really a nice and useful piece of info. I am happy that you just shared this helpful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Hello There. I found your weblog using msn. This is a really neatly written article. I?ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your helpful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

Leave a Reply

