The Balancing Act


Dating a person with a high-demanding profession can be tricky. They may constantly be on the phone, have long meetings, travel, and have obligations to after-hours events. It takes a very understanding person to accept the lifestyle and busy schedule. I’ve been the girlfriend of a workaholic/businessman, and it was a big adjustment. During peak season at his job, his schedule was very unpredictable. He couldn’t go to family events because of work, or when he was able to attend, he was sometimes interrupted by several phone calls from his colleagues and/or supervisor. It was always something, but I understood it was the nature of the business. He did not understand, however, how to create a balance between me and his profession. It all boils down to time management. Workaholics and businessmen/women take note, you make time for what you want to make time for.

“So much to do in so little time.” “There’s not enough hours in the day.” “Time just flew by.” Yeah, yeah, yeah! In dating, these phrases, or rather excuses, are unacceptable. One of my dating pet-peeves is for a man to say he didn’t have time to call or he’s been too busy to see me. Bullshit! I have little tolerance for excuses, and being too busy is definitely and excuse. First of all, I don’t require my man to ‘check-in’ with me with a phone call. A phone call should be something he wants to do because he thought about me. So I find it absurd if a man says he didn’t have time to call. You have time to use the bathroom. You have time to eat lunch. You have time to drive from point-A to point-B. Within all of those ‘times,’ he could have taken the time to call. Technology is too advanced nowadays for a person to use the “I didn’t have time to call” excuse. This is just the same for the “I’ve been too busy to see you” excuse. Unless you are president of the United States, working for the CIA, FBI, or fighting for our country, I don’t want to hear it!! When it gets to the point where a man is too busy to make time for me, I remove myself from the situation. Actions speak louder than words. I can only listen to a man for so long before I start to look for his actions to follow. If he’s not coming with it, then it’s on to the next one! I understand the time constraints of workaholics and businessmen, but time-management is one of the first things taught in business. I don’t necessarily have to be first priority, depending on the level of our relationship, but I have to be ‘a’ priority.

Now more than ever before, I understand the complexities of working a job while developing a business and a brand. Sometimes I do feel like there aren’t enough hours in the day and time just flies by. And this is only the beginning for me. However, I also understand the bigger picture. Yes I’m working towards my career and business, but if love comes along the way, I want to work towards love too. The balance between profession and love is there, you just have to create it. My friend who works a 9-5 job and owns a business has made a conscious effort to avoid a relationship right now. He knows right now he’s not ready to create the balance of business and relationship. I fully respect his decision. He is at least being honest to himself and to anyone he dates. Personally I don’t like to deny potential love, but at least he’s playing fair. Yes play fair people! If you’re a workaholic or businessperson understand that in a relationship, it’s not all about you! Consider your partner’s time and needs. The same motivation you use toward your business, is the same motivation you should use toward your relationship.

4 comments

  1. Hi, I hopped over to your web site from mixx. It’s not something I would normally read, but I liked your thoughts on it. Thank you for creating an article worth reading!

Leave a Reply

